How the Midwest was One

by algo underground

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    If you'd like more where this came from, be sure to download ALGO UNDERGROUND's free bonus companion album, "How the Midwest was One: & Furthermore" as well.

      $9.99 USD  or more




ALGO UNDERGROUND is a rotating cast of musicians who approach their improvisational music as a fearless team sport. Schooled and unschooled players interact producing unpredictable, raw material. Their goals are to listen, react, play nothing familiar, and record everything. That product is then mined under a microscope (in Protools) measure by measure, beat by beat. It's looped, cut, remixed, overdubbed, and composed after the fact into funky new beasts altogether.  Otherworldly evolving grooves, often in odd time signatures, create a lush, syncopated groundwork over which soloists explore trading melodies, solos, and riffs in this unapologetically robust instrumental release.


released May 4, 2017

ALGO UNDERGROUND- How the Midwest was One
1 how the midwest was one 08:10*
2 questioning of answers 06:20
3 coordinated attack havoc PT2 06:12*
4 the fed up get down PT2 06:23
5 a dream of waking PT1 04:34
6 within this perfect moment 09:01
7 13 spells 08:56*
8 tail racket 03:38
9 travelogue for thirsty minds 05:49
10 todos juntos los chulos 10:10*
11 groove is a gift that binds us 08:28

Max Cherryfield- Drums on all tracks except 7 & 10 Keys on tracks 7 & 10 Beat boxing on track 1Mellotron on track 11 Hammond on tracks 4,11
Skinny Lou Kingston- Guitar on all tracks except 8 Electric bass on track 8
Professor Stringfellow- Electric Bass on tracks 1,3,5,6,7,10,11 Acoustic bass on tracks 2 & 9
Angus Dungoody- Hammond Organ on tracks 2,5,11 Electric bass on track 4 Guitar on track 8
Judd Kinsworthy- Cello on tracks 2,5,6,8,9,11 Acoustic Bass on tracks 1,8,10
Ruff Kutt- Drums on track 2,4,5,6,7,8 Keys on tracks 3 & 9
Ravio Sanchez- Wah guitar on tracks 4,5,6,11
Evander Bierest- Sax on tracks 1,5,7,10,11
Noose Meyers- Trumpet on tracks 1,3,4,5,6,7,10
Gator "Wow" Williams- Bari Sax on tracks 2,9,11
Jim Smoothy- Trumpet on tracks 2,5,8,9,11
dbegalka- Slide guitar on track 8

Ambient intros/outros:
Max Cherryfield- synth & accordion
Kiki Pearl- trombone & vocalizations

All tracks are by Algo Underground and were recorded, mixed, and edited on ProTools at Two Fish Recording Studios in Mankato, MN, unless otherwise noted.
*recorded at Prof's Loft in St. Peter, MN

Original recordings and overdubs occurred between 7-11-10 and 2-28-15.
Additional overdubs, editing, remixing, and mastering occurred through 4-19-17
Digital editing, mixing, post composing, and overdub engineering: Cam Johnson
Recording Engineers: Wes Schuck, Craig Matarrese, Rachel Mogck, Matt Schooll
Mastered at Studio 6 and Solitudinous Mastering Studios in Mankato, MN
Mastering Engineer: Damen Price


Cover Art by Cam Johnson (

Special thanks to Kristi Schuck, Zillah Glory, and Ryan Sturgis.

Dedicated in loving memory to Wes Schuck (aka "Awesome" Angus Dungoody)

Completion of this music was made possible by an Artist Grant from the Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council with funds provided by the McKnight Foundation.



all rights reserved


algo underground Minnesota

contact / help

Contact algo underground

Streaming and
Download help